Online Resources

Online Resources 2017-05-18T12:59:45+00:00

Two of Our Favorites

Accurate information on all things children: Info About Kids http://infoaboutkids.org/

Helping parents manage media and modern parenting by rating, educating, and advocating for kids, families, and schools: Common Sense Media https://www.commonsensemedia.org/


General Child Safety and Health

Kids Health.org: Parents Home Page http://kidshealth.org/parent/

American Academy of Pediatrics http://brightfutures.aap.org/Family_Resources.html

Baby-Proofing Your Home – the Definitive Guide http://www.improvenet.com/a/baby-proofing-your-home

HealthyChildren.org: Ages & Stages http://www.healthychildren.org/English/Pages/default.aspx

Talk with Kids http://www.talkwithkids.org/

Keep Kids Safe from Preventable Injuries http://www.safekids.org/safetytips

Home Fire Prevention & Safety Tips http://www.usfa.fema.gov/citizens/home_fire_prev/

Fire Safety and Prevention for Kids http://www.homeadvisor.com/article.show.Fire-Prevention-Preparedness-and-Recovery.17335.html#kids

Parents Central: From Car Seats to Car Keys – Keeping Kids Safe http://www.safercar.gov/parents/index.htm

Pool Safety: How to Teach Your Kids to Swim http://blog.poolcenter.com/article.aspx?articleid=6197


Child Development

Centers for Disease Control http://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/actearly/index.html

The Whole Child (PBS) http://www.pbs.org/wholechild/

Zero to Three http://www.zerotothree.org/


Autism Spectrum Disorder

Arkansas Autism Resource and Outreach Center  http://www.aaroc.org/

Little Rock Autism Families: www.meetup.com/Little-Rock-Autism-Families

Autism Speaks http://www.autismspeaks.org/

Understood: For Attention and Learning Issues https://www.understood.org/en


Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder

Children and Adults with ADHD: www.CHADD.org

Understood: For Attention and Learning Issues https://www.understood.org/en

American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry: www.aacap.org

National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) Health Information: http://www.nimh.nih.gov/index.shtml

Help for ADHD: www.Help4adhd.org

The ADHD Warehouse: www.addwarehouse.com


Anxiety and Depression

American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry: www.aacap.org

National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) Health Information: http://www.nimh.nih.gov/healthinformation/index.cfm


Parenting Challenging Children

APA Society for Child and Adolescent Clinical Psychology: Effective Child Therapies http://www.effectivechildtherapy.com/content/information-parents-caregivers-and-general-public

Center for Effective Parenting http://www.parenting-ed.org/

Foundation for Children With Behavioral Challenges: http://www.explosivekids.org


Educational Resources

Families and Advocates Partnership for Education: http://www.fape.org

National Information Center for Children and Youth With Disabilities: http://www.nichcy.org

Council of Educators for Students with Disabilities http://www.504idea.org


Children with Special Needs

Parent to Parent http://www.p2pusa.org/p2pusa/sitepages/p2p-home.aspx

Arkansas Disability Rights Center: http://www.arkdisabilityrights.org

Family Voices http://www.familyvoices.org/

Arkansas Disability Coalition: http://www.adcpti.org

Council for Disability Rights http://www.disabilityrights.org

Children with Disabilities http://www.childrenwithdisabilities.ncjrs.org

Disability Rights Education Defense Fund http://www.dredf.org


Gender and Sexuality

National LGBT Health Education Center: http://www.lgbthealtheducation.org/

World Professional Association for Transgender Health: www.wpath.org

Yes Institute: “The Source for Knowledge on Gender and Orientation”  (http://www.yesinstitute.org/)   

TransYouth Family Allies: http://www.imatyfa.org/

Family acceptance project: http://familyproject.sfsu.edu/home

Lead with Love: http://www.leadwithlovefilm.com/

Vancouver Coastal Health: http://transhealth.vch.ca/

Center of Excellent for Transgender Health: http://transhealth.ucsf.edu/

Gender Creative Kids: http://gendercreativekids.ca/

 

Active Facebook Groups:

Parents of FTMs

Parents of Transgender Children

Transforming Families

 

National Hotlines:

Trans Lifeline: 877-565-8860; http://www.translifeline.org/

Trevor Project Lifeline (For LGBT youth ages 24 and younger): 866-488-7386; http://www.thetrevorproject.org/

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline: 1-800-273-8255; http://www.suicidepreventionlifeline.org/

 

 

John Doe

Edit Your Profile

Upcoming Events

There are no upcoming events at this time.

Mental Health Screeners

This Is A Custom Widget

This Sliding Bar can be switched on or off in theme options, and can take any widget you throw at it or even fill it with your custom HTML Code. Its perfect for grabbing the attention of your viewers. Choose between 1, 2, 3 or 4 columns, set the background color, widget divider color, activate transparency, a top border or fully disable it on desktop and mobile.